Monday, October 1, 2007

7 Ancient Wonders of the World

The commonly known Seven Ancient Wonders of the World were all man-made monuments, selected by Philon of Byzantium in 200 B.C.
His selection of wonders was essentially a travel guide for fellow Athenians, and the stunning sites were all located around the Mediterranean basin, the then-known world.

The monuments he chose, to be remembered in perpetuity, were:

" The Lighthouse of Alexandria
" The Temple of Artemis
" The Statue of Zeus
" The Colossus of Rhodes
" The Hanging Gardens of Babylon
" The Mausoleum of Halicarnassus
" The Pyramids of Egypt

All had been built between 2,500 B.C. and 200 B.C. Today, only the Pyramids of Giza in Egypt remain.